Crazy in Love with Lemon Blueberry Scones! A Visit to Cobs Bread – The Ate by Ate Daily, Vol. 009

2 Comments

DSCN2331Current obsession: the lemon-blueberry scones from Cobs Bread!  I’ve been going crazy over these since May, to the point where I almost can’t pass them up any time I’m around a Cobs Bread now.  Even my brother, who normally wouldn’t touch a blueberry much less eat one (it’s one of his least favourite fruits) has totally given in to the lemon-blueberry scone love and scarfed a few of these babies down right along with me.  THEY ARE SO DARN YUMMY.  The glaze, the oodles of blueberries bursting from every scone and the sweet and zesty lemon make for delicious teatime snacks and, if you like things sweet in the morning, breakfasts.  Just think, they’d be so perfect paired with the Blueberry Jam tea from David’s Tea or the Lemon Meringue tea from Tealish or any other sweet or citrusy fresh flavours.  You could plan a whole breakfast or tea menu around these lovely pastries, what with blueberry pancakes, lemon tarts, loaf cakes, lemon bars, blueberry oatmeal cookies…I could daydream about this for a long time!  I am a lover of all things lemon, especially lemon desserts, and most blueberry things as well so the two married together in a scone is just heaven in my mouth.

DSCN2012 - Copy

DSCN2012

DSCN2330

They’re $1.75 each and I’ve been getting mine from the Annex location just west of Spadina on Bloor Street West but any Cobs Bread location will do.  So far I’ve only tried the lemon-blueberry and cinnamon flavours but my brother has given the thumbs up for the apple butterscotch one and my boyfriend has given a heartfelt, “Mmmm….” for their double chocolate ones so none of us have struck out on any of their scone flavours just yet.  While I love the lemon-blueberry ones to itty bitty pieces, I wouldn’t mind trying their berry white chocolate ones too so we’ll see if I can get my hands on one of them in the near future.  In the meantime, I think I’ll continue drooling over these.

DSCN2332

 

DSCN2335

DSCN2336

*****

The Cobs Bread shop in the Annex is located at 370 Bloor Street West several blocks west of Spadina Ave. between Walmer and Dalton Rd.  Visit the Cobs Bread site: http://www.cobsbread.com/local-bakery/my-local-bakery for other locations in and around Toronto and the GTA.

2 thoughts on “Crazy in Love with Lemon Blueberry Scones! A Visit to Cobs Bread – The Ate by Ate Daily, Vol. 009

    • Trust me, you’ll want more than one! Another awesome thing about the Annex location is that there is a David’s Tea just down the road. It’s like morning/afternoon tea break handed to us on a silver platter.

Leave a Reply

