The Aunt Jemima Pancake Mix Experiment: Banana Buttermilk Pancakes

4 Comments

Bananas were never one of my favourite fruits when I was little.  I preferred other fruits like apples and melons, but because I developed some nasty allergies to a bunch of fruits during my teens, I was forced to reevaluate my fruit diet and I’m really glad I did.   I nosh on fruit like it’s going out of style and I take advantage of its versatility by using them in yogurt, dried fruit and granola mixes, and of course, cooking.  Over the past several years I’ve been finding myself reaching for a banana much more often, especially as part of my breakfast.  And I love baking and cooking with bananas too!  Awhile ago, I made a post and showed you all some French toast I had cooked up and just this past weekend, I had pancakes!  

My mum had bought a box of Aunt Jemima’s Buttermilk pancake mix and at first, I was skeptical.  When she told me, I scoffed and thought, “pancake mix in a box?  Ugh, we could make our pancakes from scratch, mum, why??”  So I went into our Aunt Jemima pancake experiment not really knowing what to expect.  Were they going to be dry?  Hard?  I hoped not because I really wanted pancakes and I was looking forward to mashing my bananas with my potato masher.  Call me selfish.

The directions were simple: for every 1 cup of pancake mix, add 3/4 of water.  Simple!  No eggs, no additional ingredients.  Just plain water.  The pancake mix itself contains wheat flour, corn flour, buttermilk powder, and dried egg yolk.  1 cup of pancake mix was said to yield around 6 to 7 pancakes 10 cm (or 4 inches) in diameter per pancake, but hey, we were feeding 4 people for breakfast and wanted bigger pancakes, so we doubled the amount to 2 cups of pancake mix and 1 1/2 cups of water.  It worked just fine and there was enough for all 4 of us to eat, so mission accomplished! 

We had plenty of bananas, so I sliced and mashed 2 of them, and sliced and reserved a 3rd for fruit topping later.  I added the mashed bananas to the pancake batter and mixed the batter until large lumps disappeared.  When you’re mixing up any kind of pancake batter, be sure not to over mix!  You’ll end up with cardboard hard pancakes and that is not sexy.  We used a soup ladle to ladle the batter into our skillet, which was over a medium-high heat, and added a drizzle of vegetable oil when needed.  When bubbles started to form and the edges crisped and browned, we flipped.  Easy!  And voila!  Banana buttermilk pancakes for breakfast!

How did they taste?  They tasted freakin’ amazing!  SO soft and moist and not “cakey” in the least.  The addition of the bananas made these so flavourful and it was like tasting banana cake without actually eating cake.  They were so yummy and I was really happy that they turned out so well.  Thumbs up on this one, Aunt Jemima! :D  To jazz up my pancakes, I dusted them with a little powdered sugar, topped them with sliced bananas and fresh strawberries, and drizzled a little bit of honey over top.  Heavenly breakfast!  The pancakes themselves were fab, but the fruit and honey gave it a bit of subtle sweetness and juiciness, so A+ on all counts.  And I’m so, so excited to experiment a little more with pancake toppings and other fruits.  I’m thinking blueberry almond, apricot almond, apple cinnamon, and maybe a tropical themed one too.  Yay pancakes!

     

4 thoughts on “The Aunt Jemima Pancake Mix Experiment: Banana Buttermilk Pancakes

  1. Deb, they look great! Especially with the icing sugar on them. I need to try to make them like this. What I call pancakes are actually crepes really, thin but these look thicker and so so good!

  2. Pingback: Happy First Day of Spring! The Aunt Jemima Experiment, 2nd Edition: Fruit & Nut Pancakes! « Ate by Ate

  3. Pingback: A Berry Good Morning! Strawberry Blueberry Aunt Jemima Pancakes « Ate by Ate

Leave a Reply

